Kyuhyun Mesmerizes Kuala Lumpur with Stellar 'Restart' Concert

Monday, April 15, 2024

Last Saturday, 13th April 2024, the Mega Star Arena in Kuala Lumpur was filled with excitement as Super Junior's Kyuhyun graced the stage for his 2024 κ·œν˜„ (KYUHYUN) ASIA TOUR ‘Restart’ in Kuala Lumpur. While Kyuhyun is no stranger to Malaysia, having visited numerous times with Super Junior, this marked his first solo performance in the country. 

Kyuhyun revealed that he was initially unsure about his solo drawing power in Malaysia. However, Kyuhyun's doubts were swiftly dispelled as thousands of fans from all over the world, including China, Hong Kong, Vietnam, Singapore and many more other countries, turned out to support him. The venue, filled with KYUpiters and ELFs, was bursting with energy and excitement, creating an electrifying atmosphere from start to finish.

During the ment, Kyuhyun's memory played tricks on him as he humorously believed it had been five years since his last visit. However, loyal fans quickly corrected him, reminding him that it had only been two years since Super Show 9 in 2022, much to his amusement. With a chuckle, he admitted, "My memory is getting worse!"

Recognizing his reputation as a dancing singer, Kyuhyun acknowledged that there might be a lot of newcomers in the audience, particularly those experiencing his music for the first time that night. Expressing empathy, he apologized to them as he prepared to sing slower, more melancholic songs than usual. Despite recalling Kuala Lumpur's typically energetic crowd, he stressed the importance of slowing down for the performances of the night - "I remember Kuala Lumpur as people with a lot of “energy” but today we need to slow down." 

One of the highlights of the night was Kyuhyun's Mandarin cover of Eric Chou's "Ni Hao Bu Hao (How Have You Been?)", accompanied by English translations for non-Mandarin speakers on the screen. His flawless pronunciation and emotional delivery left the audience in awe. He also treated fans to a series of Chinese songs from his Super Show days, including "Zhi Shao Hai You Ni (At Least I Still Have You)", "Yuan Liang Wo (Forgive Me)", and "Xin Bu Liao Qing (New Endless Love)" , showcasing his improved Mandarin skills.

Throughout the concert, Kyuhyun's beautiful voice mesmerized the crowd. He shared his experience performing in Korean musicals and treated fans to the track "Destiny" from Musical "Ben-Hur", showcasing his talent as a musical actor. During "Confession Is Not Flashy" from the "Hospital Playlist" OST, Kyuhyun made sure to greet fans from every section of the arena, demonstrating his appreciation for their support.

True to his Super Junior roots, Kyuhyun delighted fans with energetic performances of Super Junior hits like "Devil", "Black Suit", and "Sorry Sorry. He even surprised the fans with a snippet of Yoasobi's "Idol". The night reached its emotional peak during "At Gwanghwamun", as fans sang along with Kyuhyun, creating a heartwarming moment of unity.

As the encore drew to a close, Kyuhyun left us with a parting gift, his own soulful rendition of Misha Omar's "Bunga Bunga Cinta", a touching tribute to his Malaysian fans, showcasing his appreciation for their support with a local favourite's song. 

Towards the end, Kyuhyun disclosed that he was battling the flu during this visit and nearly could not make it to the concert. However, with the aid of medicines and the unwavering support of his fans, he powered through to deliver a memorable performance. Kyuhyun humbly apologized for any imperfections in his performance due to his flu symptoms, although his professionalism ensured that these alleged imperfections went unnoticed by the audience. Promising to return and make it up to his fans, he left the crowd eagerly anticipating his next visit.

Set List
01. Restart
02. Dreaming
03. 밀리언쑰각 (A Million Pieces)
04. 천천히, 느리게 (Slow, Slowly)
05. μ‚¬λž‘μ΄μ—ˆμ„κΉŒ (Was It Love)
06. 애월리 (Aewol-ri)
07. δ½ ε₯½δΈε₯½? (How Have You Been?)
08. θ‡³ε°‘ι‚„ζœ‰δ½  + εŽŸθ«’ζˆ‘ + 新不了情 (At Least I Still Have You + Forgive me + New Endless Love)
09. 운λͺ… (Destiny) from Ben-Hur 
10. ν™”λ €ν•˜μ§€ μ•Šμ€ κ³ λ°± (Confession Is Not Flashy)
11. 그게 쒋은거야 (Time with you)
12. κΉŠμ€ 밀을 λ‚ μ•„μ„œ (Flying, deep in the night)
13. νˆ¬κ²Œλ” (Together)
14. Devil + Black Suit + Sorry, Sorry
15. をむドル (Yoasobi's IDOL)
16. κ΄‘ν™”λ¬Έμ—μ„œ (At Gwanghwamun)
17. λ‚΄ λ§ˆμŒμ„ λˆ„λ₯΄λŠ” 일 (Daystar)
18. λ§ˆμ§€λ§‰ 날에 (Moving On)
19. 그렇지 μ•Šμ•„ (The Story Behind)
+ Restart
+ Bunga-Bunga Cinta
+ Rainbow

A heartfelt thank you goes out to the organizers for extending the invitation and allowing us to experience this unforgettable concert.

You Might Also Like


Our Team

GOKpop Logo
GOKPOP, Malaysia based online media providing exclusive Korea entertainment news happening in Malaysia and Singapore. Join Us!

Music of the Month

Contact Us


Email *

Message *